Skip to main content

EBSCO eBooks- Search, Find and Use EBoooks: Home

A guide to using the Luther Rice Library EBSCO eBooks collection

Header

Database Guide EBSCO EBooks

Welcome to the EBSCO eBooks LibGuide. This guide was created to help you use our EBSCO eBook collection.

Welcome

Welcome!

Welcome to EBSCO eBooks Database Guide.  Here you will find video tutorials, frequently asked questions, and general information about the EBSCO eBook collection.

Save, Print, Email eBook Chapters

Can I print or save EBSCO eBook pages as a PDF?

Up to 100 pages of an EBSCO eBook can be saved or emailed as a PDF file (per user) from within the eBook viewer to be printed at a later time.

Notes:

  • The number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.
  • If you have reached your printing limit, the option to print or save eBook pages will be temporarily unavailable.

To learn how to save, print, or email eBook Chapters, see:

EBSCO EBook Video Tutorials

What are EBSCO EBooks?

What are EBSCO eBooks?

EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that your library has either purchased or has a subscription to access. EBooks  available via subscription are renewed annually for the library to retain access. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines.

EBSCO eBooks offer a number of advantages over their print counterparts.  Users can:

  • Download titles to mobile devices, including iPhones, iPads, Kindle Fires, and Android Devices
  • Search within a book for specific words or phrases
  • Save, print, or email chapters or sections
  • Copy and paste portions of text for easy access during the research process
  • Link to books or book chapters for easy reference or social sharing
  • Save a list of favorite books to a virtual book shelf
  • Generate or export citations to bibliographic management tools
  • Save notes to a personal folder with a My EBSCOhost account
  • Navigate between sections or chapters and the index via linking
  • Place holds on titles with limited simultaneous user licenses (though many titles are available for unlimited access)

If you’re interested in making a request for the purchase of a specific eBook for the library collection, contact the library.

EBSCO EBooks Viewer

EBSCO eBooks Viewer

EBSCO’s online eBook viewer supports reading on desktop or laptop computers and tablet devices. Our reader is browser-based, so there’s no need to download special software or hardware; users simply search, click and immediately start reading.

EBSCO eBook Viewer

Key Features:

  • Access anytime, anywhere – available for iOS and Android devices
  • Support for scrolling through the entire eBook to find relevant information
  • Updated handling to display PDF content without plug-ins or adjustments to browser settings
  • Support for researchers’ needs with cite, note, export and dictionary tools
  • Print, email, and save tools enable patrons to take chapters or pages directly from the viewer
  • Quickly download the entire eBook for further reading offline through applications such as ADE.
  • A growing number of titles available in both PDF and EPUB formats, providing choices for users

Additional Tutorials

View a quick visual guide for downloading EBSCO eBooks.

View the full EBSCO eBook tutorial playlist.

Downloading EBSCO EBooks

Step 1: Create a My EBSCOhost Account

In order to download EBSCO eBooks to your computer or use the EBSCO eBooks mobile app, you must create a personal My EBSCOhost account.

To create a personal account:

  1. Run a search in the OneSEARCH bar on the library homepage.
  2. When you are taken to the login page, click "All Students Click here". Log in to the library, if you are not already logged in.C
  3. Click the “Sign In” link along the top of the GALILEO search page.
  4. Click the blue “Create a new Account” link.
  5. Enter the required information and make note of your new EBSCO Username and Password.
  6. Use your new Username and Password to log in to My EBSCOhost.

Update: You may now create a My EBSCOhost account using your Google account, instead of entering your data.

 

Step 2: Download and Install Adobe Digital Editions

In order to download EBSCO eBooks, you must have Adobe Digital Editions installed and registered on your computer. You may register the software without an ID, if you will not be transferring the eBook to another device. If you will be transferring the eBook to a secondary device, you will need to create an Adobe ID.

Adobe Digital Editions is a free download available at this link:
http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html

Recommended Browser Settings

Recommended Browser Settings for EBSCO eBooks

  • For Adobe Acrobat Reader Browser Requirements and settings for all supported browsers, click here.

  • For general browser requirements for the EBSCOhost interface, click here.

  • Internet Explorer versions 8.0 and older are not compatible with eBooks in EPUB format. To view an EPUB format eBook, we recommended these browsers: Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Internet Explorer 10 or later.

Report a Broken Link

Report a Broken Link 

If you find a link that is not working, please let us know the name of the guide you are in and the title of the item you are attempting to open. You may email us at library@lutherrice.edu  (copy/paste broken URL), call, or let us know through chat.

We will update the guide and be very grateful for your help.

Contact Info

Smith Library
Luther Rice College & Seminary

3038 Evans Mill Road

Lithonia, GA 30038

770-484-1204 ext. 5756