Skip to main content

eBooks at Smith Library: Home

Get an overview of Luther Rice Library's three eBook collections.

Introduction to EBooks

Introduction to Library EBooks

This guide will introduce you to our 3 eBook collections and familiarize you with some similarities and differences between them.  

What is an eBook?

An eBook is an electronic book that contains the same information as its print edition, but which can be instantly accessed from a device with an internet connection.

What is the benefit of using eBooks?

There are many benefits to using eBooks. The four main benefits are:

  • EBooks are instantly accessible without leaving the house or office.
  • EBooks are fully searchable by keyword.
  • You are free to make as many notes, bookmarks, and highlights in the eBooks as you like.
  • EBooks return automatically and there are never any late fees or lost books.

Why do we have 3 eBook collections?

The Luther Rice Library strives to offer students the largest possible selection of eBooks. Each eBook vendor has a unique relationship with book publishers. So one eBook vendor may be currently offering content that the other isn't.

What are the differences between the 3 eBook Collections?

See the columns below for an outline of the various features and details you will need to know regarding each eBook collection.

Try EBSCO EBooks

Click to Open

EBSCO

What to Know about EBSCO EBooks...

The Collection

  • EBSCO eBooks is our main eBook collection. It contains about 287,000 eBook titles.

EBSCO: Access/Searching

  • EBSCO eBooks can easily be searched through the OneSEARCH box on the library homepage.

  • You will have complete access to the content of the full-text eBooks without an additional login. Be sure to use the Full-text limiter checkbox, if you don't want to see eBooks that are not full-text through this database.

EBSCO: Usage Details

  • You can read, search, copy and paste some text, and download specific pages of EBSCO eBooks without a download or logging in directly to EBSCO.
     
  • You can search the entire text of every EBSCO eBook by going to Advanced Search and changing the search parameters from "select a field" to "TX All Text Fields" and entering the terms you are looking for.


EBSCO: Saving for Later Access

  • In order to save eBooks to a personal folder, you must create a secondary login with EBSCO. To create an account, click "Sign In" in the top right corner and then click the "Create an Account" link and enter your information.

  • You can also find the eBook's Permalink (located on the right side of the eBook record that appears when you click on the title) and save that link in a document or email to click for later access. (Press Enter on the keyboard after pasting the url to make the link active.)
     
  • If you download Adobe Digital Editions (see next section) and check the eBook out, it will be saved in this desktop application for the duration of the checkout period.

​EBSCO: Checkout/Download

  • Checkout time is up to 2 weeks. However, you can view the entire eBook from your browser without checking the book out, as long as there is an available copy. Checkout guarantees access to the eBook for the duration of the checkout period. However, if the book is available to multiple users or you only need one-time access, it may not be necessary to checkout the book.
     
  • In order to checkout and/or download eBooks, you must have a secondary login with EBSCO (see Usage Details above) and download and register Adobe Digital Editions on your computer. Downloaded eBook files are accessible for the length of the checkout period.
     
  • What if I don't remember my EBSCO login? You will need to go to the EBSCO login page and click "Forgot Your Password?" to recover your password from EBSCO.

Mobile Acces

  • On iOS and Android devices, you need Bluefire Reader, which is free from the App Store and Google Play. You need an Adobe ID to use Bluefire Reader.

View the Full EBSCO eBook LibGuide for more information.

 

Try ProQuest EBooks

Click to Open

ProQuest

What to Know about ProQuest EBooks...

The Collection

  • The ProQuest eBook collection contains over 140,000 titles, most of which come with the library's GALILEO subscription package.

ProQuest: Access/Searching

  • Some ProQuest eBooks will appear in your OneSEARCH results. When they do, they will have a Full-Text Finder link that will lead you to the eBook in ProQuest.
     
  • However, many ProQuest eBooks will not appear in ProQuest search results. So it is best to search ProQuest eBook Central directly, if you don't find a title through OneSEARCH. The direct link to ProQuest can be found on the library homepage under the heading Find Books, towards the bottom of the homepage on the left.
     
  • You will have full access to the content of the eBooks, upon logging in to the library. Most of the eBooks in this collection are available to an unlimited number of users at one time.
     


​ProQuest: Usage Details

  • When you visit ProQuest and click the Sign in link in the top right, this database will automatically recognize your student login and you will be automatically logged in to your personal ProQuest account upon visiting this site, from this point forward (as long as you are using the same computer). This will automatically allow you to start saving eBooks to your virtual bookshelf, as well as adding notations, bookmarks, and highlights to any eBook.

  • You can also copy and paste text and download specific pages and chapters of these eBooks.
     
  • By default, ProQuest eBooks automatically searches the entire text of every eBook when you run a standard search.
     

ProQuest: Saving for Later Access

  • Once you are signed in to ProQuest (see Usage Details above), the database will allow you to begin saving the books to your own virtual bookshelf. You can even create categories!
     
  • ProQuest eBooks also has the option to "Share Link to Book", where you can grab the link (copy and paste) and save it anywhere you like (such as a Word document or an email) for later access.
     

ProQuest: Checkout/Download

  • Checkout time is up to 3 weeks. However, most of these titles are available to an unlimited number of users at one time and you are easily able to make notes in the eBooks. So there is not much need to download, unless you will be offline.
     
  • In order to download full books, you will need to install and register Adobe Digital Editions. However, the eBook download only lasts for the duration of the checkout time.


Mobile Access

  • On iOS and Android devices, you need Bluefire Reader, which is free from the App Store and Google Play. You need an Adobe ID to use Bluefire Reader.

View the Full ProQuest eBook guide for more information.

Try Axis 360 EBooks

Click to Open

Axis

What to Know about Axis 360 EBooks...

The Collection

  • Axis 360 eBooks currently contains about 650 titles.

Axis 360: Access/Searching

  • Axis 360 is not searched by OneSEARCH. It will need to be searched separately from the Axis 360 website (the "Magic Wall").
     
  • The Axis 360 page can be found under the Find Books heading on the library homepage.
     
  • To view any content of the eBooks, you will need to login again to the Axis 360 page (the "Magic Wall"), even if you are already logged in to the library.
     
  • The books are available on a one-user-per-copy basis. If the one copy or multiple copies are checked out by other users, they are not available. There is also a limit of 10 eBooks per student from this collection at one time. You may return books early by clicking the return button.
     


Axis 360: Usage Details

  • You are not able to search within the full-text of all the Axis 360 eBooks at one time. You must check out an item, before you are able to search within it.
     
  • Axis 360 eBooks do not allow page or chapter downloads. It is also not possible to copy and paste text.
     
  • You are able to make notes, bookmarks, and highlights in Axis 360 eBooks.


Axis 360: Saving for Later Access

  • AxisNow (the in-browser reader) allows you to save checked out books to your browser for offline access. See this video for instructions.
     
  • You also have the option of saving a link to a book within the Magic Wall. Just copy and paste the top url/web address bar into a document, after clicking on the eBook.

Axis 360: Checkout/Download

  • In order to access Axis 360 eBook content you must login and checkout the book.
     
  • Checkout time is 2 weeks.
     
  • Immediately upon checking out the book, you can click "Read Now" to read the eBook in your browser. Make sure your pop-up blocker is turned off. 

Mobile Access

View the Full Axis 360 LibGuide for more information/help.

Get Help

  • In-person: If you are on campus, or can come to campus, feel free to ask for help at the library service desk.   
  • E-mail : Submit a question, and a librarian will get back to you as soon as possible.
  • By Phone: You can give us a call at (770) 484-1204 (ext.5756).