Skip to main content

OneSearch: Home

This guide will provide information about Luther Rice One SEARCH, which can be used to find books, articles, and more.

WELCOME

Welcome to the LibGuide on One SEARCH!  This guide will provide information on what One SEARCH is and how to use it. 

What is One SEARCH

What is One SEARCH?
OneSEARCH is a tool that allows you to simultaneously search across most of the library's databases, full text articles, and books in the library through a single search box!

How do I Access OneSEARCH?
To access OneSearch, point your web browser to the Luther Rice Library website library.lutherrice.edu.

What can I search using OneSEARCH?

OneSEARCH includes the Luther Rice Library Catalog (print books) and most of the library databases. When you search using OneSEARCH, you will find books, eBooks, articles, images, and more.

What are the advantages of using OneSEARCH?

  • It saves you time with your research. OneSEARCH makes most of Luther Rice Library resources searchable from one location, so you no longer have to search individual databases one at a time.
  • It helps you discover resources that you may not find without using OneSEARCH, because OneSEARCH is searching all of the databases at once.
  • It is a good starting point for your research. By using such an expansive search tool, you will get a sense of the depth and breadth of the resources on your topic.
  • It lets you see most relevant results displayed first, whether they are books, eBooks, scholarly articles or media.

What do the  Five Tabs Across the Top of the OneSEARCH Box Mean?

Each of the tabs above the OneSEARCH box allows you to conduct a different type of search:

  • Search Everything: Allows you to search for all resources available including print books, eBooks, peer reviewed articles, magazine articles, and audio-visual materials.
  • Books: Allows you to search the Luther Rice library’s catalog for print books and audio-visual resources.
  • Journal Locator: Allows you to quickly locate electronic journals by title, regardless of database (if a title is available, you will be taken to the database where it is located).
  • Articles: Allows you to search for journal/magazine articles.
  • LibGuides: Takes you to available library guides to find helpful resources.

How do I search OneSEARCH?

Enter keywords in the single search box just as you would in Google search. It's not unusual for searches to return thousands of results, but you can refine your search using the options on the left side of your results screen, such as Full Text, Scholarly (Peer Reviewed), Local Resources Only, Publication Type, Publication, Published date, Database, etc.  For a more specific search, use the Advanced Search option. You can add additional keywords to your search in order to narrow down results to the most relevant. When available, full text PDF and HTML documents will be shown in the search results page

Does OneSEARCH include everything that the library offers?

At this point, OneSEARCH does not search all databases that Luther Rice subscribes to. For example, it does not include ProQuest eBooks, ProQuest Article Databases and Theological Journal Library database. These databases can be searched as separate resources from the library homepage.

What does the "Find It" link do? 

The "Find It" button indicates that the item is not available in full-text from the databases currently being searched. However, when you click on the "Find It" link, you may be provided a link to the article located within ProQuest databases, the open web, or another source. If you click "Find It" and the article is not found, you may contact the library to search for the article elsewhere.

Help with OneSEARCH

If you are having trouble using OneSEARCH, Luther Rice Library staff are here to help you with your search. Please email us at Library@Lutherrice.edu.

 

One SEARCH

Luther Rice OneSEARCH
Keyword Title Author