Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Manual for Students

Library Manual for Students

Electronic Databases

Electronic Databases

Students of Luther Rice College & Seminary have access to a wide variety of databases to assist with their research needs. This section will review those databases and briefly explore their use. 

A “database” can be defined as a collection of related resources on a specific topic or from a specific source. You may use a library database to search for articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Each entry in a database is called a record. For example, Academic Search Complete is a database of articles from popular magazines and academic journals.

How to Log In

How to Log In to the Online Library

In order to access library databases, one must be a current student, faculty or staff member. For students, when you run a search through One Search or click to access a database directly, you must click the "All Students Click Here" button before logging in with your student email address and password. 

Accessing Databases

Accessing Databases

                The databases available at Smith Library can be accessed through the library’s website in one of the following ways:

    1. Home Page:  

From the Library Home Page, you may enter your search term directly into the embedded OneSearch box to search for everything or limit to articles only.   

    1. Frequently Used Databases: Links to Luther Rice Library’s most widely-used electronic resources are found on the Frequently Used Databases page. You can locate this page from the top drop-down menu under “Find.” To search a database, please click on the database “Login” link provided. When accessing these databases from off-campus, you must login with your Luther Rice email and password.

  1. Databases A-Z page: The Databases A-Z page is found from the top drop-down menu, under “Find”, on the library home page. On this page you will find a list of all the electronic databases subscribed to by the library. To search a database, click on the database links provided.