Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Print Books
Accessing Print Books
Print books may be picked up in the library or be requested by mail. To request items by mail, add the items to a cart within the library catalog and send it to email@example.com. Please include your student ID Number and your shipping address.
Print Books from Bibliography
The New Testament Background by C. K. Barrett's selection of background documents to the New Testament has been an essential reference book for students of Christian origins for nearly forty years. Carefully chosen from a wide range of sources, and annotated with the impeccable scholarship for which Professor Barrett is renowned, this collection brings the world of the first century vividly to life. Now Professor Barrett has revised and enlarged the book, taking account particularly of the Qumran material and Gnostic literature, including the Nag Hammadi texts. The addition of these new sections, together with other significant changes throughout, bring the book right up to date. The chapters on Josephus, the Targums and Apocalyptic have all been enlarged, and there is new material from the Greek tragedians. A new generation of students will be as well served with this edition as their teachers were with the first. The book includes selections from: Apocrypha & Pseudepigrapha (including 1 Enoch, 4 Ezra, 1 & 2 Maccabees): Dead Sea Scrolls: Eusebius: Gnostic Literature (including Hermetic, Mandaean & Nag Hammadi Texts): Greek & Latin authors (including Aristotle, Suetonius, Tacitus & Zeno): Inscriptions: Josephus: Old Testament (including Septuagint & Targums): Papyri: Philo: Rabbinic Literature (incluidng Midrashim, Mishnah & Talmuds)
Call Number: BS2410.B28 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Jesus and the Gospels by This second edition of Jesus and the Gospels prepares readers for an intensive study of Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, and the events they narrate. Craig Blomberg considers the historical context of the Gospels and sheds light on the confusing interpretations brought forth over the last two centuries. The original 1997 book won a Gold Medallion Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association, and this updated version, factoring in new scholarship, debate, critical methods, and the ongoing quest of the historical Jesus, ensures the work will remain a top tool for exploring the life of Christ through the first four books of the New Testament.
Call Number: BS2555.2.B5863 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Paul by Written by one of the best known and most respected biblical scholars of all time, this illustrated volume explores all of the primary themes in Paul's thought as they developed in the historical context of his life and travels. While Bruce's primary concern is to portray the life of the apostle Paul, he also examines the main themes of Paul's thought, set in their historical background and illustrated from his letters. Originally published in 1977, this new paperback edition of Paul will be used with profit by all who have an interest in the primitive church--from general readers to the most advanced biblical scholar.
Call Number: BS2506.B755 2000
Publication Date: 2000
New Testament History by This book recounts the Roman and Jewish context of New Testament times...the lives of John and Jesus, and the history of the first two generations of the Church.
Call Number: BS2407.B69 1980
Publication Date: 1980
History of the Bible in English by The Bible in the English language stands among the great achievements of all time, not only as a masterpiece of inspired writing but also as testament to the prominent place of the Scriptures in the life of English-speaking peoples. In this comprehensive study of the various translations of the Bible into English, F.F. Bruce traces the story from its earliest days to the publication of such contemporary versions as The New English Bible, The New American Standard Version, The Living Bible, and The Good News Bible.
Call Number: BS455.B74 1978
Publication Date: 1978
The Canon of Scripture by Winner of two 1990 Christianity Today Awards: Readers' Choice (1st place; theology & doctrine) and Critics' Choice (1st place; theology & doctrine). A 1989 ECPA Gold Medallion Award winner! How did the books of the Bible come to be recognized as Holy Scripture? Who decided what shape the canon should take? What criteria influenced these decisions? After nearly nineteen centuries the canon of Scripture still remains an issue of debate. Protestants, Catholics and the Orthodox all have slightly differing collections of documents in their Bibles. Martin Luther, one of the early leaders of the Reformation, questioned the inclusion of the book of James in the canon. And many Christians today, while confessing the authority of all of Scripture, tend to rely on only a few books and particular themes while ignoring the rest. Scholars have raised many other questions as well. Research into second-century Gnostic texts have led some to argue that politics played a significant role in the formation of the Christian canon. Assessing the influence of ancient communities and a variety of disputes on the final shaping of the canon call for ongoing study. In this significant historical study, F. F. Bruce brings the wisdom of a lifetime of reflection and biblical interpretation to bear in answering the questions and clearing away the confusion surrounding the Christian canon of Scripture. Adept in both Old and New Testament studies, he brings a rare comprehensive perspective to his task. Though some issues have shifted since the original publication of this book, it still remains a significant landmark and touchstone for further studies.
Call Number: BS465.B78 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Encountering the New Testament by Studying the New Testament can be an exciting--and intimidating--experience. This readable survey is designed to make the adventure less daunting and more rewarding. The second edition has been revised throughout, including updated bibliographies and focus boxes addressing contemporary concerns. The CD-ROM has been substantially revised to provide a more helpful and up-to-date interactive learning experience.
Other distinguishing features include:
- abundant illustrations, photographs, tables, and charts-all in full color
- sidebars addressing ethical/theological concerns
- focus boxes isolating key issues
- learning objectives and a chapter outline
- end-of-chapter study questions, review questions, and chapter summaries
Call Number: BS2330.2.E48 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Backgrounds of Early Christianity by Widely used as a textbook since its publication in 1987, this work provides an analytical and systematic introduction to the Roman, Greek, and Jewish political, social, literary, and religious backgrounds necessary for a historical understanding of the New Testament in the early church.
Call Number: BR129.F47 1993
Publication Date: 1993
New Testament Survey by Written in a clear, nontechnical style, New Testament Survey begins with a survey of the social, political, economic, and religious background of the New Testament, and then goes on to examine the various groups of New Testament books, which are considered in their historical settings. The book concludes with a penetrating study of the New Testament canon.
Call Number: BS2330.2.T45 1985
Publication Date: 1985
The Dead Sea Scrolls in English by 'This significantly expanded and revised fourth edition of what has always been the best English translation of the Scrolls has become a combination of two books: Vermes has replaced nearly all of the original Introduction with an abridged version of the corresponding material from The Dead Sea Scrolls: Qumran in Perspective... He has also added new translations of material that has been published since the last edition appeared in 1975... By far still the best edition of the scrolls in English.' James R Mueller, Religious Studies Review
Call Number: BM487.A3 1990
Publication Date: 1990
The Jesus Quest by The Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible, the result of more than ten years of research and preparation, provides Bible students with a comprehensive and reliable library of information. Varying viewpoints of scholarship permit a well-rounded perspective on significant issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. Well-organized and generously illustrated, this encyclopedia will become a frequently used resource and reference work because of its many helpful features: - More than 5,000 pages of vital information of Bible lands and people - More than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference - Hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs - Thirty-two pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for quick perspective and ready reference - Scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics, backed by recent archaeological discoveries -- over 230 contributors from around the world. The editors have brought to this encyclopedia the fruit of many years of study and research.
Call Number: BT301.9.W58 1997
Publication Date: 1997
The Paul Quest by A Christianity Today 1999 Book of the Year! Who was the real Paul? Some of Paul's contemporaries seem to have asked the same question. For some he was Paul the tentmaker. For others he was Paul the heretic, Paul the peripatetic philosopher, Paul the would-be apostle, Paul the prophet, or Paul the founder of Christian communities and missionary hero. For more than a decade there has been a renewed quest for the real Paul behind the Acts of the Apostles and the collection of Pauline letters. Although this quest has not gained the visibility of the renewed quest of the historical Jesus, it is a thriving enterprise joined by Protestant, Catholic and Jewish scholars as well as those interested in Paul as a figure of the first-century Greco-Roman world. One of the great gains of this quest for the historical Paul has been a fresh encounter with Paul the Jew. The flood of new insight into Judaism of the first century has illuminated features of Paul that were previously obscured. A scholarly reacquaintance with the classical Roman world has filled in even more details. In this book, Ben Witherington III examines and evaluates the various profiles of Paul that have been newly discovered or recently refurbished. We encounter Paul as an ancient Mediterranean personality and watch him operate in a social environment where honor, shame, patronage and corporate identity are daily considerations. We discover new dimensions of Paul's epistles as we observe him dictating letters and gauging his rhetoric. We enter into the field of controversy where Paul the apostle and prophet meets his opponents. We reconsider the nature of the human body and Christian community as we meet Paul the anthropologist and champion of woman and slave. Paul, the man of the big idea, shows himself to be in truth a storyteller and interpreter of Israel's holy history. In and through all of these complexities, we discover Paul to be a consistent and coherent theologian and ethicist whose thinking reaches out across nearly two thousand years to engage men and women today. With The Paul Quest Witherington leads an exploratory tour and reappraisal of the historical Paul, a sweeping survey of the contemporary rediscovery of the Jew from Tarsus
Call Number: BS2506.W56 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Jesus and the Victory of God by In this highly anticipated volume, N. T. Wright focuses directly on the historical Jesus: Who was he? What did he say? And what did he mean by it?
Wright begins by showing how the questions posed by Albert Schweitzer a century ago remain central today. Then he sketches a profile of Jesus in terms of his prophetic praxis, his subversive stories, the symbols by which he reordered his world, and the answers he gave to the key questions that any world view must address. The examination of Jesus' aims and beliefs, argued on the basis of Jesus' actions and their accompanying riddles, is sure to stimulate heated response. Wright offers a provocative portrait of Jesus as Israel's Messiah who would share and bear the fate of the nation and would embody the long-promised return of Israel's God to Zion.
Call Number: BS2398.W75 1996 vol. 2
Publication Date: 1996
The Resurrection of the Son of God by Why did Christianity begin, and why did it take the shape it did? To answer this question – which any historian must face – renowned New Testament scholar N.T. Wright focuses on the key points: what precisely happened at Easter? What did the early Christians mean when they said that Jesus of Nazareth had been raised from the dead? What can be said today about his belief?
This book, third is Wright’s series Christian Origins and the Question of God, sketches a map of ancient beliefs about life after death, in both the Greco-Roman and Jewish worlds. It then highlights the fact that the early Christians’ belief about the afterlife belonged firmly on the Jewish spectrum, while introducing several new mutations and sharper definitions. This, together with other features of early Christianity, forces the historian to read the Easter narratives in the gospels, not simply as late rationalizations of early Christian spirituality, but as accounts of two actual events: the empty tomb of Jesus and his "appearances."
How do we explain these phenomena? The early Christians’ answer was that Jesus had indeed been bodily raised from the dead; that was why they hailed him as the messianic "son of God." No modern historian has come up with a more convincing explanation. Facing this question, we are confronted to this day with the most central issues of the Christian worldview and theology.
Call Number: BS2398.W75 2003 vol.3
Publication Date: 2003
The New Testament and the People of God by Part of a five-volume project on the theological questions surrounding the origins of Christianity, this book offers a reappraisal of literary, historical and theological readings of the New Testament, arguing for a form of "critical realism" that facilitates different readings of the text.
Call Number: BS2398.W75 1992 vol.1
Publication Date: 1992
The Luther Rice Library has an extensive collection of Bible commentaries and other course relevant resources in print format. These resources can be found by searching the Koha Library Catalog.
Call Numbers Range for N.T. Books:
|1 & 2 Cor.
|1 & 2 Thess
|1 & 2 Tim
|1 & 2 Pet, Jude
|1, 2 & 3 John
If you need help finding the correct section in the library, see one of the library staff; we are happy to help!
Print Books: Commentaries in Bibliography
New International Commentary on the New Testament by Comprehensive and accessible, the New International Commentary on the New Testament is one of the most highly regarded resources of current scholarship. Prepared by world-renowned authorities, it reflects exacting study of the original Greek and offers careful exegesis with preachers and teachers concerns in mind. Critical comments are footnoted; grammatical, textual, and historical details are appended. New International Commentary on the New Testament comprises 18 volumes published by Eerdmans.
Call Number: Various call numbers
Publication Date: (Set of 18 volumes)
The New American Commentary Series by The New American Commentary collects the best in contemporary evangelical scholarship in a series that examines the entire Bible in depth. The New American Commentary – New Testament Set currently offers 15 volumes of commentary on the New Testament.
Based on the NIV Bible text, the New American Commentary offers a verse-by-verse analysis of the Scriptures. A mid-level commentary, its scholarship reflects comprehensive biblical research in original languages, but avoids overly-technical prose to maintain accessibility to readers without a seminary background.
Call Number: Various call numbers
Print Books: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries from Bibliography
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia by A comprehensive biblical reference includes a wide range of articles about people, places, customs, events, religious concepts, and philosophical ideas mentioned in the Scriptures.
Call Number: BS440.I6 1979
Publication Date: 1979
Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible by The Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible, the result of more than ten years of research and preparation, provides Bible students with a comprehensive and reliable library of information. Varying viewpoints of scholarship permit a well-rounded perspective on significant issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. Well-organized and generously illustrated, this encyclopedia will become a frequently used resource and reference work because of its many helpful features: - More than 5,000 pages of vital information of Bible lands and people - More than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference - Hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs - Thirty-two pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for quick perspective and ready reference - Scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics, backed by recent archaeological discoveries -- over 230 contributors from around the world. The editors have brought to this encyclopedia the fruit of many years of study and research.
Call Number: BS440.Z63 vol.1 REF
Publication Date: 1975
Report a Broken Link
Report a Broken Link
If you find a link that is not working, please let us know the name of the guide you are in and the title of the item you are attempting to open. You may email us at firstname.lastname@example.org (copy/paste broken URL), call, or let us know through chat.
We will update the guide and be very grateful for your help.