It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TH 5300 Applied Theology for Spiritual Development: Articles/Databases
View this short video to learn quick tips for identifying the difference between a scholarly and popular source. (2:56 minutes)
Tips for Searching Databases
When searching in the databases for articles the following tips may help you.
* This is the truncation symbol, it searches for variations of your term. For example: teach* will return: teaches, teacher, teachers, teaching
AND - Use the word AND when you want to combine search terms (this will reduce the number of items found). For example: repeated reading AND fluency will find articles that discuss repeated reading and fluency.
OR - Use the word OR when you are searching for a topic that may have different names (this will expand the number of items found). For example: reading aloud OR oral reading will find articles with any of these words.
NOT - Use the word NOT when you want to exclude certain terms from your results. For example: qualitative NOT mixed methods will find articles that talk about qualitative research but exclude any that are mixed methods.
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
EBSCO's Religion & Philosophy Collection includes more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Theological Journal Library database is a tremendous electronic resource for Biblical studies. TJL collection includes the best conservative, scholarly and evangelical journals from more than a dozen schools of theology. Don’t miss our Theological Journal Library collection. While our oneSEARCH contains information from most of the library’s databases, TJL is not included in oneSEARCH.
Need Help? Contact Us!
E-mail : Submit a question, and a librarian will get back to you as soon as possible.
By Phone: You can give us a call at (770) 484-1204 (ext. 5756).
Chat: Click on the 'Chat' box.
In-person: If you are on campus, or can come to campus, feel free to ask for help at the library service desk.
Luther Rice College & Seminary
3038 Evans Mill Road
Lithonia, GA 30038
If you find a link that is not working, please let us know the name of the guide you are in and the title of the item you are attempting to open. You may email us at firstname.lastname@example.org (copy/paste broken URL), call, or let us know through chat.
We will update the guide and be very grateful for your help.