Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Resources from course bibliographies (Click on the image to open the full record.)
Early Christianity History Books in the Library
This is a selection of reference materials. Click on the title link to bring up the full record. For more reference materials, access the Koha Online Catalog.
The Ante-Nicene Fathers by The Ante-Nicene Fathers ranges from the Apostolic Fathers to various third and fourth century sources including the liturgies and ancient Syriac documents.Volume 1: Apostolic Fathers, Justin Martyr, InrenaeusVolume 2: Hermas, Tatian, Athenagoras, Theophilus, Clement of AlexandriaVolume 3: TertullianVolume 4: Tertullian (IV), Minucius Felix, Commodian, OrigenVolume 5: Hippolytus, Cyprian, Caius, Novatian, AppendixVolume 6: Gregory Thaumaturgus, Dionysius the Great, Julius Africanus, Anatolius and Minor Writers, Methodius, ArnobiusVolume 7: Lactantius, Venantius, Asterius, Victorinus, Dionysius, Apostolic Teaching and Constitutions, Homily, and LiturgiesVolume 8: Twelve Patriarchs, Excerpts and Epistles, The Clementina, Aprocryphal Gospels andActs, Syriac DocumentsVolume 9: Gospel of Peter, Diatessaron, Testament of Abraham, Epistles of Clement, Origen and Miscellaneous WorksVolume 10: Bibliography, General Index, Annotated Index of Authors and Works
Call Number: BR60.A62 N522
Publication Date: 1994
Early Church Fathers, Nicene and Post Nicene 1st Series by Volume 1: Augustine: Prolegomena, Confessions, Letters
Volume 2: Augustine: City of God, Christian Doctrine
Volume 3: Augustine: On the Holy Trinity, Doctrinal Treatises, Moral Treatises
Volume 4: Augustine: Anti-Manichaean, Anti-Donatist Writings
Volume 5: Augustine: Anti-Pelagian Writings
Volume 6: Augustine: Sermon on the Mount, Harmony of the Gospels, Homilies on the Gospels
Volume 7: Augustine: Gospel of John, First Epistle of John, Soliliques
Volume 8: Augustine: Expositions on the Psalms
Volume 9: Chrysostom: On the Priesthood, Ascetic Treatises, Select Homilies and Letters, Homilies on the Statues
Volume 10: Chrysostom: Homilies on the Gospel of St. Matthew
Volume 11: Chrysostom: Homilies of the Acts of the Apostles and the Epistle to the Romans
Volume 12: Chrysostom: Homilies on Corinthians, 1st and 2nd
Volume 13: Chrysostom: Homilies on Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, Thessalonians, Timothy, Titus, and Philemon
Volume 14: Chrysostom: Homilies on the Gospel of John, Hebrews
Call Number: BR60.A62 N524
Publication Date: 1994
Additional Print Resources from Course Bibliographies
Medieval Christianity History Books in the Library
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by "The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium is a three-volume, comprehensive dictionary of Byzantine civilization. The first resource of its kind in the field, it features over 5,000 entries written by an international group of eminent Byzantinists covering all aspects of life in the Byzantine world. According to Alexander Kazhdan, editor-in-chief of the Dictionary: "Entries on patriarchy and emperors will coexist with entries on surgery and musical instruments. An entry on the cultivation of grain will not only be connected to entries on agriculture and its economics but on diet, the baking of bread, and the role of bread in this changing society."
Major entries treat such topics as agriculture, art, literature, and politics, while shorter entries examine topics that relate to Byzantium such as the history of Kiev and personalities of ancient and biblical history. Each article is followed by a bibliography, and numerous maps, tables, architectural designs, and genealogies reinforce and clarify the text." - Amazon.com
Call Number: DF521.O93 1991
Publication Date: 1991
Monks and Nuns, Saints and Outcasts by A new generation of historians today is borrowing from cultural anthropology, post-modern critical theory, and gender studies to understand the social meanings of medieval religious movements, practices, figures, and cults. In this volume Sharon Farmer and Barbara H. Rosenwein bring together essays--all hitherto unpublished--that combine some of the best of these new approaches with rigorous research and traditional scholarship. Some of these essays re-envision the professionals of religion: the monks and nuns who carried out crucial social functions as mediators between living and dead, repositories for social memory, and loci of vicarious piety. In their religious life these people embodied an image of the society that produced them. Other contributions focus on social categories, usually expressed as dichotomies: male/female, insider/outsider, saint/outcast. Monks and Nuns, Saints and Outcasts is the first book to show the interaction of seemingly antithetical groups of medieval people and the ways in which they were defined by, as well as against, each other. All of the essays, taken together, form a tribute to Lester K. Little, pioneer in the study of religion in medieval society.
Call Number: BR252.M575 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Reference Books in Library (Not available for checkout)
Encyclopedia of the Early Church by The Encyclopedia of the Early Church is a two-volume reference work providing concise and precise information on all topics concerning the first eight centuries of Christianity. Valuable to historians, archaeologists, philosophers, and philologists as well as theologians, this work extends the knowledge of how Christianity evolved to become the most important influence in the history of Western civilization.
Call Number: BR66.5.D5813 1991 vol.1 & 2 REF
Publication Date: 1991
The New Westminster Dictionary of Church History by Covers the early, medieval, and Reformation periods and contains nearly fourteen hundred articles written by more than two hundred contributors.
Call Number: BR95.W496 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Search Koha Catalog (Print Books)
Modern Christianity History Books in the Library
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritative reference available on early modern European society as a whole.
Call Number: BR302.8.O93
Publication Date: 1996
Report a Broken Link
Report a Broken Link
If you find a link that is not working, please let us know the name of the guide you are in and the title of the item you are attempting to open. You may email us at firstname.lastname@example.org (copy/paste broken URL), call, or let us know through chat.
We will update the guide and be very grateful for your help.