Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Turabian Publication Manual
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations - Ninth Edition by When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today’s students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations—also known as “Turabian”—remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals.
This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research.
Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago’s two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project.
Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Call Number: LB2369.T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
This guide is based on Kate Turabian's manual (9th edition) and is a reliable and heavily-used shorter guide to Chicago Style. We recommend every student acquire a copy. They can be purchased inexpensively from Amazon.com.
About Kate Turabian
Kate Turabian (1893-1987) was the dissertation secretary of the University of Chicago's graduate school and every accepted dissertation crossed her desk. She became an expert on the Chicago style and wrote a pamphlet that described the correct style to use when writing dissertations. This pamphlet eventually became the book, A Manual for Writers, which students and researchers use today.
Turabian Formatting Tutorial
Welcome to the Turabian/Chicago citation style research guide. Turabian style of writing and formatting was created by Kate Turabian. This style was adapted from the University of Chicago's 'Chicago' style of citation and was simplified for students and researchers.
Turabian presents two basic systems of documentation: Notes-Bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and Author-Date style (or reference list style). Bibliography style is typically used in literature, history and the arts. The reference list style is typically used in the physical, natural, and social science areas. The Notes-Bibliography style is the one used at Luther Rice.
The purpose of documentation is to:
- Identify (cite) other people’s ideas and information used within your essay or term paper.
- Indicate the authors or sources of these in a Reference or Bibliography list at the end of your paper.
The following sections provide you with information and examples that will help you to cite the sources that you find during your research.
While this guide provides helpful examples, it may not be perfect. For more detailed information, please see the Turabian Manual, which is available at the Front Desk in the library. It is also available for purchase through http://www.lutherricebooks.com/ or Amazon.com.
Avoiding Plagiarism Tutorials
Images & Art
Helpful Documents - Turabian 9th Edition
What is Plagiarism?
Plagiarism occurs when someone uses the work of another without properly giving credit to the person or group who created the original material. Plagiarism is a serious issue in an academic institution. Always acknowledge your sources by citing them in proper format. This guide provides helpful examples for citing sources in the Turabian style, used in courses at Luther Rice.
Learn more about how to avoid plagiarism.
Need Help? Contact Us!
- In-person: If you are on campus, or can come to campus, feel free to ask for help at the library service desk.
- E-mail : Submit a question, and a librarian will get back to you as soon as possible.
- By Phone: You can give us a call at (770) 484-1204 (ext.5756).
Report a Broken Link
Report a Broken Link
If you find a link that is not working, please let us know the name of the guide you are in and the title of the item you are attempting to open. You may email us at firstname.lastname@example.org (copy/paste broken URL), call, or let us know through chat.
We will update the guide and be very grateful for your help.