Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Turabian Citation Style Guide 9th Edition: I. Reference Book

About Citing Books

For each type of source in this guide, the general form and specific examples will be provided for the Notes-Bibliography style options of Turabian.

This information and several of the examples were drawn from A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (9th Edition). Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the manual.

For further information, please ask your instructor or refer to the Turabian manual.

Reference Book

Well-known reference works, including major dictionaries or encyclopedias are generally only cited in notes or parenthetical citation depending on which style you are using. It is generally not necessary to include a full citation in the bibliography or reference list unless the source is critical to your argument. If entries are arranged alphabetically, then cite the name of the item instead of the volume or page numbers. This should be preceded by s.v. which stands for sub verbo or "under the word." Use s.v v. for plural entries (17.9.1).

If the reference item is not well-known, include specific publication details in your notes and also include it in the bibliography or reference list as if it were a book.

 

General Format

 
Footnote: 
 
Superscript Note Number Reference Source Title, edition (if not the first)., s.v. "Title of section."

 

or if necessary for lesser known reference items:
 
Superscript Note Number Reference Source Title, edition. (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), s.v. "Title of section."
     
Bibliographic Entry (if necessary):
 
Author Last Name, First Name. Reference Source Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. (Always use hanging indents for bibliography entries.)
  
 

Examples

 
Footnote:
 
1 Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "Salvation."
  
or if necessary for lesser known reference items:
 
3 The Times Guide to English Style and Usage, rev. ed. (London: Times Books, 1999), s.v v. "police ranks," "postal addresses."
    
Bibliographic Entry (if necessary):

 

Aulestia, Gorka. Basque English Dictionary. Reno: University of Nevada Press. 1989. (Always use hanging indent for bibliography entries.) 

 

Handy Tools