Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Turabian Citation Style Guide 9th Edition: H. Annotated Bibliography

About Citing Books

For each type of source in this guide, the general form and specific examples will be provided for the Notes-Bibliography style options of Turabian.

This information and several of the examples were drawn from A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (9th Edition). Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the manual.

For further information, please ask your instructor or refer to the Turabian manual.

Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

The bibliography for any piece of academic writing is the concise list of references that usually appears on the last page of your paper. An annotated bibliography provides additional information for each of the references listed, thereby enabling the reader to learn more about each reference and its impact on your paper.

 

General Format

 
Bibliographic Entry:
Author Last Name, First Name. Title of the book (or other resource) you are reviewing. City: Publisher, yyyy.

 

Examples

 
Annotated Bibliography:

Bailey, D. Russell, and Barbara Tierney. Transforming Library Service through Information Commons: Case Studies for the Digital Age. Chicago: American Library Association, 2008.

The Information Commons (IC) strives to unite all the facts and figures of the world into a resource available to everyone. Many academic libraries are considering implementing an information commons model that reflects the contemporary way patrons use resources. This guide provides “how-to” information through 20 case studies. Readers will learn the historical context for Information Commons and understand what practicalities need to be part of the planning process.

Graboyes, Alanna S. “A 21st Century Library in a 20th Century Space.” Educational Leadership 69, no. 4 (2011).

There is no need to wait for a total redesign. Careful use of space and resources can transform a school library. This article details the elements administrators and space planners should consider.

Finding Dissertations Tutorials

This tutorial will explain what an annotated bibliography is and how to create one.

Handy Tools