Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the OT 5200 Old Testament Introduction course guide. Here you will find links and helpful tips for accessing library resources listed in your course bibliography, as well as additional library resources related to your course content.
Please note that this course guide contains several pages accessible through the blue tabs above.
Accessing Online Content
All of the online resources are accessible online with your student email address and password login. Most eBooks can be accessed without downloading. Simply click the "Full Text" link to open the book in your browser. (Note: Axis 360 titles DO require a software download.)
Accessing Print Books
Print books may be picked up in the library or be requested by mail. To request items by mail, add the items to a cart within the library catalog and send the cart by email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please include your student ID Number and your shipping address.
Dictionary of the Old Testament Series
Please Note: This dictionary series is available to Luther Rice students to use online. Use the Search Within (top left) feature to search for specific words or use the Contents (top left) listing to jump to a particular section of the dictionary.
Old Testament Introductions
An Introduction to the Old Testament by Enter the classroom of one of todays premier biblical interpreters as he shares his infectious love for the Old Testament. This is where you begin the adventure of exploring the Bibles First Testament. Some Old Testament introductions tell you what you could have seen for yourself. They might recount in detail what other scholars have said, and then tell you what you should think about it. But with refreshing directness, John Goldingay outfits you with basic knowledge, points out the main approaches, outlines the primary issues and then sets you loose to explore the terrain for yourself. Traverse the grand tapestry of the Torah. Discern the art and grain of biblical narrative. Listen to the cries, confessions and cadences of the Psalms. Probe the varied textures of wisdom literature. And ponder the prophets in the darkening nightmare of exile and the distant light of hope. More workbook than handbook, this introduction to the Old Testament is rooted in decades of tried and proven teaching. Goldingay displays a robust confidence in the truthfulness of Scripture combined with a refreshing trust in the reader's ability to grapple responsibly with the Old Testament. Even when the text hits you sideways, Goldingay encourages you not to squirm or run, but to grab hold and go deeper. Under his expert guidance the cordon between faith and criticism swings open into theological and spiritual insight.
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Exploring the Old Testament by W. T. Purkiser (1910-92) was a prolific writer, respected scholar, and well-loved preacher within the Church of the Nazarene who also had a significant voice in the larger evangelical Christian community. He authored and contributed to some of the most widely disseminated and enduring works in the Wesleyan-Holiness tradition.
Call Number: ProQuest eBook
Publication Date: 2011
EBSCO Discovery allows students to search for journal articles and eBooks simultaneously from EBSCO and GALILEO databases, as well as items from the library's physical catalog.
ProQuest Religion database offers over 200 full-text journals covering formal theological studies, recent trends, scholarly thought, news, doctrines, philosophies, histories of major religions around the world, as well as archaeological information.
EBSCO's Religion and Philosophy Collection
EBSCO's Religion & Philosophy Collection includes more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Select Recommended Journals
Report a Broken Link
Report a Broken Link
If you find a link that is not working, please let us know the name of the guide you are in and the title of the item you are attempting to open. You may email us at email@example.com (copy/paste broken URL), call, or let us know through chat.
We will update the guide and be very grateful for your help.
Luther Rice College & Seminary
3038 Evans Mill Road
Lithonia, GA 30038
770-484-1204 ext. 5756